The dancing man in Mumbai

by thebeautifulpeopleblog

I believe that some of my portraits were given to me as gifts. They were given to me by the people in them and some of these portraits came from bizarre fleeting encounters and they came when they were least expected.

I was approaching Mumbai’s old Victoria Terminus train station where I was on my way to purchase a ticket . I ran across the road avoiding the cars and a man who was standing in the middle of the crossing started dancing in front of me, not to appear rude and half having a laugh, I danced back at him. This man was really voguing. We must have looked complete idiots,  it was a wonderful moment of unexpected interaction between two people who had never met and I guess will never meet again. I took his portrait as an after thought, he smiled at me and he continued voguing as I walked away.

Portrait Jason Scott Tilley

