Marine drive beach Chennai; The man who came on his motor bike

by thebeautifulpeopleblog

I had walked for some time dodging the flotsam and jetsam where the surf breaks on Chennai’s Marine drive beach; the air I was breathing was almost as hot as the sand I walked upon. I came across this man. He was standing alone in the water, I was avoiding the mixture of  human and marine waste, that had washed up on the beach, debris from the over crowded city close by. The mix of man made waste and rotting organic sea life produces a heady smell on this super long beach.

Because I came here on my motor bike

 

 

This man stood perfectly still, elegant as a stone statue, wearing a smart freshly pressed safari suit cooling his feet in the water but I was intrigued as to why he was wearing a crash helmet. I walked up to him and I said “I hope you don’t mind me asking, but why are you wearing a helmet”?

 With a dead-pan expression he lifted his sun visor and replied “because I came here on my motor-cycle”.

 This was of cause the perfect answer to a very stupid question.

 Jason Scott Tilley

